Jesus a Tree Hugger?

By Katie Runnels

Did you know that Jesus was a “tree hugger”?  It might seem crazy, but I believe it is true.  In the following passage Jesus tells us that it is our job to preserve the earth and bring light to its people.

In other words we are the preservers and the guides.  To shed light on something is to clarify.  And to clarify is to guide, teach, and explain.

Read the following teaching from the Sermon on the Mount.

Salt and Light

13 “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot.

14 “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”

Notice that Jesus says that we are the “salt of the earth.”  We are not salt of the world. This is important.  In ancient times salt was very important because it preserved food for a long period of time.  If we are the salt for the earth, then we are the “preservers” pf the earth.  One of our purposes on this earth is to take care of it and preserve it. Salt was and is also a very vital part of our diet.  We all need salt in our diets in order to be healthy.  So we are a vital part of the health of the earth.  The next time you are tempted to think that religion has nothing to do with the environment, think again!  Jesus calls us to take care of our environment.

Secondly, we are the “light of the world.”  Notice, we are not the “light of the earth.”  I believe this is significant.  Now Jesus is referring to the earth’s inhabitants: the world. Lights, as mentioned above, clarify and act as a guide.  We are supposed to guide each other by SHINING! I see this as being yourself, letting the light within you shine without fear or hesitation, and speaking the TRUTH.    Live honestly and authentically. YOU ARE A LIGHT.  YOU ARE A GUIDE.  All you have to do is stop hiding and trust that the nudges of in our hear and soul are God’s beams of light trying to shine through you–to the world!

Prayer:  Lord, may I remember that my purposes on this earth include preserving it and taking care of it.  Also, help me to remember that I am a light and all I have to do is plug in to the energy source and take the cover off of the light bulb.  All I have to do is be me and follow the urgings you have put in my heart.  Give me courage to trust in your LOVE alone.  AMEN.

Enjoy your week and please share with me how your week goes while practicing your true purpose of preserving and shining.

2 thoughts on “Jesus a Tree Hugger?

  1. I never read it that way Katie.

    I always took it to be directed towards people alone, but we are stewards of this Earth. For billions of LIGHTS YEARS all around us there is very little and more remarkably no life. Just here. Just Earth. Amazing.

    I needed to hear this word about the Light that shines. As you know I’ve been worn down lately by people. I have to remember that my light isn’t for me is for others to glorify God. Now that is motivation for me. Dudes like to DO things. I am no exception. I have to make sure that my intentions are correct though.

    Thanks.

    Ciao.

    Like

    1. This makes me smile, Erik. It is all about perspective. When we gain a true perspective of our place in the universe, it is liberating! We are little drips in a bucket, little tiny dots on a map….
      Yet we are so precious and important–we are lights! It is so amazing, so exciting, and so beautiful. We have an important place in the world, but we need not worry about anything…. God’s got it all under control.
      May His Spirit overwhelm you and hold you. May you rest in His arms.
      Peace, friend.

      Like

Leave a Reply

