Non-attachment: The Secret to Freedom

IMG_1398

Freedom comes from trusting, and trusting comes from non-attachment–to everything except Jesus Christ.  Jesus, the giver of life, can only give you life if there is space for him to place it.

If your life is full of so many distractions, then how can the Giver of Life come near and fill you?  It’s like saying that you are listening, but all the while you are talking.  How can you possibly be listening?

The following teaching is about letting go of the things that keep us trapped spiritually–and consequentially mentally and emotionally.

EYE for EYE (Matthew 5:38-42)

38 “You have heard that it was said, ‘Eye for eye, and tooth for tooth.’[a] 39 But I tell you, do not resist an evil person. If anyone slaps you on the right cheek, turn to them the other cheek also. 40 And if anyone wants to sue you and take your shirt, hand over your coat as well. 41 If anyone forces you to go one mile, go with them two miles. 42 Give to the one who asks you, and do not turn away from the one who wants to borrow from you.

Growing up, when I heard this teaching I thought it meant that we were supposed to be “martyrs” for Christ.  In other words, I thought that the message was that we are supposed to give up what we wanted–even if we did not reluctantly or begrudgingly.

I thought the message was about self-sacrifice.  In a way, I do believe that it is about self-sacrifice, but I also think it is so much more.  This is about letting go of the things that you think make your “self” fulfilled. It is about finding the true Self–in God.

This is about living a truly spiritual life–realizing that happiness and fulfillment come from God’s spirit–and not from this world.  Your true eternal Self is far beyond retaliation, revenge, time, ego, and possessions.  Your true Self is found when you let all of these things go.  When you let them go, you find unity with God.

And this “oneness” with God is how you can be truly free and happy.  If we are attached to having revenge, engaging in retaliation, being “right,” possessing “things,” and over- controlling our time, then we are prisoners of this world.

Do you feel free and happy?  Or do you feel trapped by your responsibilities, resentments, and material possessions?

This message is for the person who wants to walk in God’s freedom.  In order to walk in God’s freedom, you must find fulfillment in letting go of these things.  Revenge, control, and ego will never set you free and make you happy.  They are never ending vacuums that suck the lifeblood from you spirit.  The more you let go of the idea that these “things” will fill the vacuum, the more the vacuum begins to close.  Pretty soon, you will be skipping on air, smiling your to work in the traffic, and laughing when someone curses at you.

Now, I know this seems strange, and I am really preaching to myself here…  I do feel that I can preach because I have experienced this joy and freedom.  And I experienced it when I truly let go of what I thought I wanted out of life.  I let go, and I just did what I thought was the right thing to do.  In other words, I died to myself.

Without death, there is no resurrection–no enlightenment, so to speak.  Is there something that needs to die in your life?  Are you resisting an evil person?  Why? What do you get out of resisting an evil person?  Are you wanting to take someone to court over money?  Are you holding on to possessions that you know could help another–or that another person wants… LET IT GO!  LET ALL OF IT GO!  Holding on to these things only drags you down.  Your reward for holding on? Discontent, pride, anger, and many more ugly characteristics.

I needed to hear this message today.  This is what it means to follow Christ–stop holding on to these things.  Only hold on to Him.

This week, be mindful of the things you are holding so tightly–or even loosely–in you your hands.  Give them away.  Give them to God.  Let them go.  Be free.  Be happy.  only thing that matters in life is your unity with God–who is love.  Do you want to be more than just loved? Do you want to be Love? One with Love?  Remember, God is Love, and Jesus calls us to be one with Him.

Prayer: Jesus, I let go.  I let go of my fear, greed, anger, and revenge. Wash me heart, mind, and spirit, and come close to me as I step closer to You.  In the name of Jesus, AMEN.

2 thoughts on “Non-attachment: The Secret to Freedom

  1. This is very thoughtful Katie. It is very true. Great job!!

    I’m happy to hear that you’re own personal walk in Christ is being strengthened and you are bearing your cross and following Him so all may see it.

    I’m glad to call you friend and to be called friend.

    Erik

    Like

    1. I find that it is in the hardest times that I am closest to Christ. Why do we cringe at hard times? It is then that we are unified with Christ and his sufferings…. Easier said than done, right? I am so happy to call you my friend, and I am so happy that you call me friend. May peace and love chase you down today.

      Like

Leave a Reply

